Rome was not Built in a Day… Nor Extropia in a Semester

Image

Over the past semester, I have created a personal blog (3ratna3kaya), contributed a couple posts here at Dharma Dialogue (Skid Row Reflection & Project Proposal), and started a Pinterest Page (Building Extropia Together). I have enjoyed fumbling around with social media, but I am quite aware that I am not particularly good at it just yet. To drive this point home with numbers, my personal blog, for example, has received 124 views to date. The highest number of views generated in a single day was 18. I tried to generate some internal traffic via word of mouth and Facebook, but that of course had a pretty limited effect.

When your mother tells you she likes your blog, it feels nice of course, but it also sounds hauntingly similar to high school years when she assured you that she could barely see your pimples and that you looked handsome in your rented prom tuxedo. Anyhow… thank you, mom, and happy Mothers’ Day.

In a nutshell, that was pretty much my experience with social media. I received some nice encouragement from friends, family, professors, and classmates. Some of my content was even “liked” by a small handful of fellow netizens I have never met in person. Disappointing, however, was the lack of comments on my posts and content. Here at Dharma Dialogue, two comments were made on my initial two posts. One comment was from the always incredible editor and contributor, “Buddhakaruna.” The other comment left for me was attributed to “anonymous,” but seemed likely to be internal traffic, as well (still very appreciated of course).

Most interesting or encouraging were the “likes” and “follows” from random netizens. I could rattle off some statistics related to these “likes” and “follows,” but none are especially impressive or revealing. Later looking into the blogs of these individuals, I found that most had either an interest in Buddhism, technology, or both.

The title of this post is, of course, facetious. I did not expect to gather up a group of netizens and build an Extropic world. There is a great deal of momentum at play and Extropia strikes me, admittedly an optimist at heart, as a likely outcome whether additional people get involved or not.

In the time-span of less than a month, from my project proposal to this project reflection, technology has continued its brisk sprint into the future. Some major advancements that have made the news in that time include bone tissue substitutes made from stem cells, “buckyball” non-toxic drug deliver via nano-tech, an injectable nano-network aimed at treating diabetes, neural development studied using brain cells created from stem cells, a quantum internet has secretly been in use for over two years, a working 3-D printed gun was made available for download, and then quickly ordered to be removed by the State Department.

There is little doubt in my mind that the future is upon us. I believe it would be a mistake to not consider how our own personal theologies (Buddhist, Dharmic, Taoic, Abrahamic, or otherwise) respond to highly-potential future developments such as radical life extension, mind-uploading, geoengineering, terraforming, etc, etc.

Ummm… I guess this is the part where I beg you all to comment on this post and visit my blog and Pinterest page.

Thank you for reading.

Palms together,

3ratna3kaya

Tagged , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Rome was not Built in a Day… Nor Extropia in a Semester

  1. Reading your post, considering the questions it poses about the blogosphere, leads me to think that each of the ideas posted on here has an external and an internal series of effects. In some ways, ideas are unpacked here, much like a stay at a hotel, the various elements of the idea are laid out, perhaps altered in some way, and then, ultimately, re-packed. The journey continues. Few of the effects every truly discerned. Yet, they are forever captured and contained in the memory of the universe. They have independent life now. Perhaps you will meet them again. Will you recognize them? Will they have grown, matured, or changed? So it goes with ideas. Thanks for sharing yours.

  2. 3ratna3kaya says:

    Thank you for your comment, “aconsideredmoment.” The journey does indeed continue. I know that only a small handful of people are finding my content, but if it has created even one single brief moment of empowered optimism wherein someone decided to work towards the future they would like to see, then my efforts have certainly been well worthwhile. I plan to continue updating my personal blog (http://3ratna3kayawp.wordpress.com/) this summer from Nepal while I study Newar and Tibetan Buddhist life cycle rituals. My social media presence is just beginning. I hope to reach a larger audience with fresh and exciting new content in the not-too-distant future.

Comments are closed.

