Water, Health, and Compassion

Drinking Water

Drinking Water (Photo credit: SEDACMaps)

 “Water, health, and compassion” is my Pinterest project. I chose this topic because it is beneficial not only to me but to other people. According to Science For A Changing World, about 70 percent of the Earth’s surface is water-covered.  Up to 60 percent of human body is water; a human brain is composed up 70 percent of water and lungs are nearly 90 percent water[1].

Since a human body contains mostly water, our body and mind rely on water to purify themselves by breaking down food, helping the digestive system function, cleaning waste from tissues, and controlling body temperature.  A healthy mind and body create healthy spirit; therefore we must use water appropriately and effectively to benefit ourselves.

Last but not least, especially nowadays, many areas in the world suffer from drought.  In many places there is not enough water for farming and there is limited clean water for people to consume. In many areas, chemicals or pollution contaminate water therefore causing it to be unusable. Living in the country with full access to clean water, I feel privileged but many people who have access to good water are not grateful for what they have.

People overlook the need for fresh and clean water.  I often wonder how can we help those without access to clean water? How to raise people’s awareness of using water wisely? How organizations help preserve and distribute water sources?

In order to find answers for these questions, I decided to do research on water, how water relates to health, and how using and treating water correctly is a way to practice our compassion. This proposal is an introduction and a request for approval for me to continue with my project.  My Pinterest page is called ‘H20comesPassion’.

My Approach:

To help make my project more understandable, I will divide it into four parts:

  1. The first part is about information and facts about water shortage and usage; i.e: where the rate of drought is increasing and fresh water has disappeared.
  2. The second part is about main substance of our bodies. That is water. How does water regulate and affect our bodies?
  3. The third part is about our health. Health can be examined in body, mind, and spirit. In what way does water affect our health? What happens if we consume contaminated, polluted water?
  4. The final part is about compassion. Compassion comes from our awareness that people need fresh, clean water. Compassion comes from our awareness of situations where people don’t have enough or no drinking water. It also comes from our contribution to help people have sources of fresh water.

For each part I will use different sources below to illustrate my points. I hope this will help people easily follow my project.

Kinds of sources I will use and why they will benefit my project:

  • Books: such as Encyclopedia of Water, History of Water and Humankind, Life’s matrix, your body: many cries for water, etc. This source provides me information about components of water, how our body is made up of water, how it affects to our body, how it affects us on psychological and spiritual dimension.
  • Websites: government websites, county websites about water, tap water, contaminated water. This source provides me the reality of water we use now in daily life, how it is contaminated by human activities, how it is treated to be our drinking water or tap water. It also provides how government, states, counties raise an awareness of people about water issues.
  • Non-profit organization websites: shows us the other side of drinking water that some government or states website do not reveal. It also shows us that how those non-profit organizations have done to provide fresh water for people, or to protest against water companies that ignore water quality.
  • Journals: e-sources about water, medical journals of how water affects on the body.
  • Video: documentary movie of water.
  • Graphs, Charts, recordings, video clips, and broadcasts: Those sources help me examine my project in different angles, both in qualitative and quantitative.

This proposal is just the first step for me on my quest to understand more about water. There are different approaches to this issue and I would like to invite any comment, suggestion or advice on my proposal.  Your comments will allow me examine water more holistically.

Please follow me on my Pinterest page  and feel free to leave a comment.


[1] “The Water in You,” USGS: science for a changing world, accessed April 29, 2013, http://ga.water.usgs.gov/edu/propertyyou.html.

Tagged , , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “Water, Health, and Compassion

  1. Anonymous says:

    I really like you proposal so much Venerable. I interested about water, and the water seem like a compassion because the water is symbol of the harmony. If somebody make themselves to be like a water that easy life to be with each other also because the water easily to adjust with any thing in the world. The important thing, the water give life to the people, if they do not have water the people will be die.Thanks a lot to let me know about water with compassion.

  2. Anonymous says:

    This is very interesting topic that symbolized the sense of necessary nature human would need in daily life. Water, health and compassion, these are an importance factors to all human being. without water we will die, without heath we will painful and without compassion this world would looks like hell. Nice work Ven.

  3. thesilverbodhisattva says:

    Here is an article on water having memory, it might have an interesting application to your study. http://odewire.com/170441/scientists-investigate-water-memory.html

  4. Thank you very much thesilverbodhisattva. This article and the video clip are helpful for my study. They remind me about the work of Masaru Emoto, who has captured the images of water crystal. His work shows us that everything, even words, creates vibration and this vibration affects on water. That is why when we speak, do, or think, we have to be mindful. If we don’t, such as saying a bad word, our inward water becomes disordered, and it affects our whole body.

  5. mettadhamma says:

    It is very interesting! I like the way how you use water to explain many things that human needs like good health, good mind, compassion, mindfulness, or smadhi. water is symbol of the purity. It is clear, cool, and calm. If people can make their mind like water, it will be very useful.

  6. Great water!

    I really like your proposal Venerable. The water can adjust with many symbols or container that we put it in. I like the idea that you use the water seem like compassion because the water is symbol of the harmony. It is wonderful.

    Thank you very much for a nice proposal.

  7. Dawn says:

    Dear Thay,
    This sounds like a very comprehensive and unique project. However, I am not quite sure the objectives of the project. Is this purely to raise awareness of the issue through dissemination of information online? Or are you trying to achieve some measurable and tangible results? Perhaps you might want to add a “call to action” section where you can list practical things people can do to better the situation of water.

    Also, please be mindful of your sources, such as the book, “The Miracle of Water”. I have read that book and although I think it is very interesting, it is not scientifically sound. Hope that helps.

  8. Anonymous says:

    Dear Dawn,

    Thank you very much for your comment. Actually, in this limited project, I just want to advocate about water. To raise people’s awareness of its tremendous benefits and its reality is my purpose.
    Yes, when using sources of Dr. Emoto, I know that there is no other scientist can replicate his experiments. However, many sources like one in the link below confirm that ability of water: water has memory.

  9. Anonymous says:

    Thay Dong Tien,

    1. How about the spiritual affects water from Masaru Emoto.
    http://www.wellnessgoods.com/messages.asp
    Another word, purify water spiritually.

    2. Should you add water recycling (4. in My Approach)?
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Greywater

    Nam Mo A Di Da Phat

    Minh Tu

  10. I was recommended this website by my cousin. I am not sure whether this post is written by him
    as no one else know such detailed about my problem.
    You’re wonderful! Thanks!

  11. Suzanne says:

    Awesome site you have here but I was curious about if you knew of any discussion boards that cover the
    same topics discussed in this article? I’d really love to be a part of community where I can get feedback from other experienced people that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Many thanks!

Comments are closed.

